About Us

The South Australian Branch of the Children's Book Council of Australia aims to foster children's enjoyment of books through:

  • Promoting the Children's Book of the Year Awards.
  • Providing information on and encouragement to authors and illustrators.
  • Organising exhibitions and activities that celebrate children's literature.
  • Acting as a reference point for libraries and librarians.
  • Encouraging partnerships in order to raise the profile of Australian children’s literature.

As a branch we...

  • Support children's literature
  • Meet authors, illustrators, publishers and visiting academics
  • Keep up to date with the latest in children's literature
  • Convene 'And the winner is...' exploring the shortlisted books in the Children's Book Council Book of the Year Awards.
  • Convene a judge's talk evening.
  • Hold special events to celebrate children's literature and engage the community



All CBCA SA members are welcome to  join the committee.
We meet monthly at
Toop & Toop, 84 King William Road, Hyde Park.

PresidentKaren Mutton

Vice Presidents - Linda Guthrie, Julie Wells

Secretary - Judy Miller

Minutes Secretary - Nola Uzzell

Treasurer - Anna Angelakis

News EditorKaren Mutton

Website Manager - Nola Uzzell

National Committee Representatives - Linda Guthrie

Committee - Val van Putten, Julie Wells, Lorna Crisanti, Jane Moore

Our fiction judge for CBCA Book of the Year Awards 2016-2017 is Katharine England.


Committee Meeting Dates

We meet in the meeting room, Toop and Toop, 84 King William Rd, Hyde Park.

8th February, 2016

17th March, 2017

3rd April, 2017

1st May, 2017

6th June 2017

3rd July, 2017

8th August, 2017

4th September, 2017

16th October 2017

6th November, 2017

4th December 2017 (dinner meeting)



© 2013 The Children's Book Council of South Australia  Privacy Policy  Design by BDTS