Order of Australia Medal

Congratulations to The Reverend Dr John Cohen OAM who received this award for services to children's literature and to the community. We thank him for all his dedicated work for CBCA, especially as long term editor of the print version of Reading Time.

John spent many hundreds, if not thousands of hours co-ordinating reviewers and their reviews, organising interviews and articles for the magazine. I am sure he will not mind me mentioning the invaluable support he also had from his wife Hilary. Thanks again for their many efforts in sustaining one of the key reasons for CBCA -  high quality reviewing of  Australian children's literature.

Celebrate Reading National Conference 2016

For those of you with a wander lust and the ability to travel west for October 28th - 29th there is conference put on by The Literature Centre in Fremantle.

The focus this year is for high schools and Young Adult readers. A scholarship is available for early career teachers but you will have to be quick to apply.

Click here for more information.

Champion Pics Competition for School Students


Champion Pics Competition for School Students

Who can enter? The competition is open to all school students (R-9) in SA.

What do entrants need to do?

Working individually, students select a shortlisted book from the Early Childhood or Picture Book Categories and create a visual presentation, no larger than A3 in size.

The presentation is an opportunity for students to show their response to literature: share their feelings and thoughts about the events and characters, or draw connections between personal experiences and the text, or reflect on the language used in the text and its influence on personal response.

Students can use any media.

When is it due?

All entries are due by Monday 15th August 2016.

The winners will be announced Friday 19thAugust 2016 at the 70th Anniversary reception..

Entry is free.

What are the Prizes?

R-2 prize: $30 Book Voucher

3-5prize: $30 Book Voucher

6-7prize: $30 Book Voucher

8-9 prize: $30 Book Voucher

Each winner will also receive a book bundle their school library.

The entry form and information can be downloaded here.

Extra information can be found in the Frequently Asked Quesitions document.

The rubric offers ideas on ways students can be successful with their entry.




© 2013 The Children's Book Council of South Australia  Privacy Policy  Design by BDTS